9NEWS dominates CABJ; captures award for 'Overall Excellence'

12:04 PM, Aug 30, 2010   |    comments
  • Byron Reed
  • TaRhonda Thomas
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

The event, held at the Downtown Marriott City Center last Friday, also saw a 9NEWS employee win Broadcast Journalist of the Year for the second year in a row. 9News photojournalist Byron Reed won this year's title after 9NEWS assignment editor, Nadia Gedeon, won the same honor in 2009. 9NEWS reporter TaRhonda Thomas won the Kaiser Permanente "Thrive Award" for excellence in reporting disparities in healthcare.

Together, Thomas and Reed won the first-ever "Dreamer" Award, presented by ACCION, an organization with the goal of providing targeted financial services to help people climb out of poverty. 9NEWS President and General Manager Mark Cornetta said, "I am very proud of TaRhonda and Byron and the entire staff of 9NEWS for the quality and consistency of their storytelling and reporting."

9NEWS multimedia journalist Dave Delozier, winner of the inaugural National Press Photographer's Association award for solo journalists, claimed another honor from the CABJ for sports reporting. 9NEWS congratulates all the winners of the annual CABJ Scribes in Excellence competition. A list of 9NEWS winners appears below.

  • Television - Sports, David W. Delozier, "Writing a Wrong"
  • Television - Enterprise, Nelson Garcia, "Urban Debate"
  • Television - Feature, TaRhonda Thomas, Byron Reed, "Ed Dwight"
  • Television - Business, TaRhonda Thomas, Byron Reed, "Candy Sushi"
  • Television - Photojournalism, Byron Reed, "Curtis Fuller"
  • Television - Overall Excellence, 9NEWS Staff, "9NEWS: Colorado's News Leader"

(KUSA-TV © 2010 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos